Log In / Join Now

Wine Spectator School

Class 5: Old World Model: France




In addition to France's AC classification system, a number of regions in France use their own system. Bordeaux’s 1855 Classification is perhaps the world's most famous system.

This classification identified about five dozen châteaus in the Left Bank districts of Médoc, Pessac-Léognan and Graves and sorted them into five quality categories. Based largely on the selling prices of the wines at the time, the 1855 Classification remains a good indication of quality.

The five quality categories are:

First Growths or Premiers Crus
which includes:
Château Lafite-Rothschild in Pauillac
Château Latour in Pauillac
Château Margaux in Margaux
Château Mouton-Rothschild in Pauillac
Château Haut-Brion in Péssac-Leognan

Second Growths or Deuxiemes Crus

Third Growths or Troisiemes Crus

Fourth Growths or Quatriemes Crus

Fifth Growths or Cinquiemes...

Ready to enroll?

First, you must register for a membership to WineSpectator.com. Your membership benefits include:
  • FREE enrollment in any course at Wine Spectator School
  • Over 230,000 searchable ratings and tasting notes
  • FREE mobile access so you can research wines wherever you are
  • E-newsletters with advance ratings
  • Editors’ blogs
  • Food and wine matching tool
  • And much more
Log In If You're Already a WineSpectator.com Member

If you have questions about Wine Spectator School, please contact us.

Job Opportunity

Wine Spectator is hiring an assistant editor at its New York office. Get more details.

Free Email Newsletters—Sign Up

Sips & Tips | Wine & Healthy Living
Video Theater | Collecting & Auctions
New! Ratings Flash | New! Unfiltered

» View samples
» Or sign up now!
» Manage my newsletter preferences


The marketplace for all your wine needs, including:

Wine Storage | Wine Clubs
Dining & Travel | Wine Auctions
Wine Shops | Wine Accessories

WineRatings+ app: Download now for 340,000+ ratings.