Course: Understanding Wine

Class 7: New World Model: California

california: appellations

Grapegrowing regions in the United States are called American Viticultural Areas or AVAs. Whether an AVA is as small as a single hillside or as large as the entire state of California, each area has a unique feature that differentiates it from other areas.

AVA boundaries can be based on criteria such as climate, soil and elevation. As these distinctions are identified, new AVAs are still being created. They are regulated by the Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB), the federal agency that governs the U.S. alcohol and tobacco industries.



California's AVAs

Many of California's smaller AVAs are located within larger AVAs such as the North Coast and the Central Coast. Winemakers often use the smallest AVA they can,...

Ready to enroll? First, you must register for a membership to Your membership benefits include:

FREE enrollment in any course at Wine Spectator School

Over 230,000 searchable ratings and tasting notes

FREE mobile access so you can research wines wherever you are

E-newsletters with advance ratings

Editors’ blogs

Food and wine matching tool

And much more

Log In If You're Already a Member

Please log in using your email address and password for Wine Spectator School students who enrolled before 7.4.10, log in with your email address and school password or get more info here.

Forgot Password?

By clicking "Log in" you agree to the Terms and Conditions of Wine Spectator Online

Read our FAQ for more information

If you have questions about Wine Spectator School, please contact us.


= members only

Keep me logged in      Forgot Password?

Email Newsletters

Sips & Tips | Wine & Healthy Living
Video Theater | Collecting & Auctions
New! Ratings Flash | New! Unfiltered

» View samples
» Or sign up now!
» Manage my newsletter preferences