Course: California Cabernet

Class 2: Napa Valley


The Important AVAs
Napa Valley contains a number of key AVAs. All are recognized for their Cabernet Sauvignons.

There are four well-established, high-profile valley floor appellations. They are Napa Valley's most famous districts: Oakville, Rutherford, Stags Leap District and Calistoga (Note that Calistoga is not yet an official AVA).

Important new-comers include St. Helena, which gained AVA status in 1995, and Yountville in 1999.

These appellations are widely planted to Cabernet, and as a whole, the wineries in these appellations produce the largest volume of wine.

Traveling Through the Valley
This module examines each of the important valley floor AVAs.

We'll drive up the center of the valley on the main road, Highway 29...

Ready to enroll? First, you must register for a membership to Your membership benefits include:

FREE enrollment in any course at Wine Spectator School

Over 230,000 searchable ratings and tasting notes

FREE mobile access so you can research wines wherever you are

E-newsletters with advance ratings

Editors’ blogs

Food and wine matching tool

And much more

Log In If You're Already a Member

Please log in using your email address and password for Wine Spectator School students who enrolled before 7.4.10, log in with your email address and school password or get more info here.

Forgot Password?

By clicking "Log in" you agree to the Terms and Conditions of Wine Spectator Online

Read our FAQ for more information

If you have questions about Wine Spectator School, please contact us.


= members only

Keep me logged in      Forgot Password?

Job Opportunities

Passionate about wine? Wine Spectator magazine is looking for an enthusiastic copy editor in the New York office.

Email Newsletters

Sips & Tips | Wine & Healthy Living
Video Theater | Collecting & Auctions
New! Ratings Flash | New! Unfiltered

» View samples
» Or sign up now!
» Manage my newsletter preferences