The Geography of Scotch

Jack Bettridge
Issue: October 15, 2010

Geographical differences do often reflect traditional styles. Scotland can be divided into whisky regions that include (depending on who's doing the dividing) the Highlands, Lowlands, Islay and the Islands. Speyside is where most of the malts arise, but is sometimes considered a subset of the Highlands and not a separate region (though it clearly should be). Although the lines can blur, understanding the regions can be useful in buying whisky.

For the full article, check out the new issue of Wine Spectator, on newsstands September 13, 2010.

To continue reading this page, become a member today!

Do you have a Wine Spectator magazine subscription? Save 50% on your Online Membership right now!

Already a member?

  |  Forgot Password?

By clicking "Log In" you agree to the Terms and Conditions of


= members only

Keep me logged in      Forgot Password?

Job Opportunities

Passionate about wine? seeks a highly motivated digital journalist for an assistant editor position in its New York editorial department.

Free Email Newsletters

Sips & Tips | Wine & Healthy Living
Video Theater | Collecting & Auctions

» View samples
» Or sign up now!
» Manage my newsletter preferences


The marketplace for all your wine needs, including:

Wine Storage | Wine Clubs
Dining & Travel | Wine Auctions
Wine Shops | Wine Accessories