Hello there! I'm Dr. Vinifera, or "Vinny" for short. Ask me your toughest wine questions, from the technical aspects of winemaking to the fine points of etiquette. I hope you find my answers educational and even amusing. Looking for a particular answer? Check my archive and my FAQs. You can also follow me on Twitter: @AskDrVinny.
Do you have a question for Dr. Vinny? Ask it here...
Dear Dr. Vinny,
What is kosher wine? Is it different from organic wine?
—W. Cheong, Malaysia
The terms "kosher" and "organic" are different and not interchangeable, but not mutually exclusive. Wines can be kosher, or organic, or neither, or both.
Kosher wines are made following a set of rules consistent with Jewish dietary laws. They must be made under the supervision of a rabbi, contain only kosher yeast and kosher fining agents, and processed using equipment that's certified kosher.
Wine may be considered "organic" in three different ways: it could be made from organically grown grapes (without pesticides); it could be produced organically (with only naturally occurring sulfites, but none added); or it could be both grown organically and produced organically.
A word on sulfites. A small percentage of the population is sensitive to sulfites and looks for sulfite-free wines. Sulfites are natural byproducts of wine production, and many winemakers add additional sulfites to help stabilize and preserve the wine. This is all perfectly legal (and, for most, harmless) stuff. Kosher laws do allow the addition of sulfites, and wines made from organically grown grapes may contain added sulfites. Only organically produced wines have minimal levels of sulfites. They tend to have their own problems, but that's a different topic.
Learn from the experts and get the most out of each sip. Take one of our online courses or take them all—from the ABCs of Tasting to in-depth seminars on Food Pairing, California Cabernet, Bordeaux, Tuscany, Sensory Evaluation and more.